The Virtual Repairman's  Appliance Help Forum Index The Virtual Repairman's Appliance Help
It's only expensive if someone else fixes it for you
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Bookmark and Share
Amana gas dryer won't run (NGD7200TW)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Virtual Repairman's Appliance Help Forum Index -> Clothes Dryers
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lo3gen
Apprentice DIYer


Joined: 26 Jul 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 8:55 am    Post subject: Amana gas dryer won't run (NGD7200TW) Reply with quote

Recieving an error code t5. also checked service codes and I get a 01 (thermistor) and a code 10 (moisture sensor?).
I have done the following:
- Changed out the thermistor
- checked resistance on new thermistor (11k ohms) (old one showed >17k ohms)
- checked resistance on thermostat1 (.1 ohms)
- cleaned all visible lint inside the dryer and in vent

any suggestions?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Virtual Repairman
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jul 1999
Posts: 4627
Location: Austin, TX

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 3:14 pm    Post subject: dryer Reply with quote

The error code is actually tS not t5 although it looks similar. The shorted thermister indicates that your vent system is blocked. Describe evrything about the way this dryer is vented.

Also, am I to understand that the control panel works, yet the dryer does not run? If so, this is a blown thermal cutoff on the heater box, next to the hi-limit thermostat and the heater terminals.

See the following:

Tech Sheet for this model
_________________
FAST-MOVING PARTS | Ask the Repairman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
lo3gen
Apprentice DIYer


Joined: 26 Jul 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the reply.... the dryer vent consists of a rigid 90 deg elbow off the back, approx 6 feet of semi rigid flexible vent which turns through the wall to the outside hood.

Yes, the control panel works. I will check the thermal cutoff next. Can you forward me the link to this part on repair clinic?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lo3gen
Apprentice DIYer


Joined: 26 Jul 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a gas dryer. I do not have a thermal cutoff on the heater box. The burner tube has a high limit sensor on the top and radiant sensor on the side. There is also a thermostat on the vent exhaust next to the thermistor. All of these components appear to be good when checked with the meter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Virtual Repairman
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jul 1999
Posts: 4627
Location: Austin, TX

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 6:30 pm    Post subject: dryer Reply with quote

So will it run if you place it in Diagnostic Mode? (see manual)

If not, the door switch or control may be bad. Check the door switch and you may have to do some voltage checks at the control to see if there is output at the motor relay.
_________________
FAST-MOVING PARTS | Ask the Repairman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
lo3gen
Apprentice DIYer


Joined: 26 Jul 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, it will run in diagnostic mode
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Virtual Repairman
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jul 1999
Posts: 4627
Location: Austin, TX

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:55 am    Post subject: control Reply with quote

OK, that pretty much settles it. If it won't run on normal settings, but will if in the Diagnostic mode, then the control is bad. The safety fuses, etc are OK and so is the motor. The service manual doesn't tell you, but you do have to put into service mode and clear the code after installing the new thermistor. If you don't clear the code the dryer will still fault out with the new one installed and you will beat your head against the wall.


The control for your model is shown below if you need it-


_________________
FAST-MOVING PARTS | Ask the Repairman


Last edited by Virtual Repairman on Wed Jul 28, 2010 5:12 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
lo3gen
Apprentice DIYer


Joined: 26 Jul 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

back in business......... thanks for your help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Virtual Repairman's Appliance Help Forum Index -> Clothes Dryers All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Please use the parts links below to support this website and keep this help free!

Any part ordered from my affiliate links can always be returned if it does not fix the problem!

Start your search here:


QUICK PART SEARCH-
Enter part or model number





Diagram Search- Enter first 5 digits of model to see choices-
 

The Virtual Repairman's  Appliance Help  



Powered by phpBB and The Virtual Repairman Copyright 2011 All Rights Reserved